The first field hockey team in Georgia was established in Kutaisi on December 3, 1973, on the basis of the sports society "Locomotive". The leader of this case was Teimuraz Archaia, the supporter - Nodar Zivzivadze (chairman of the sports club "Tbomavli"). The following year, training groups were opened in Tbilisi and Batumi, and in 1974, the first championship of Georgia and the men's cup were held. "Gantiadi" Batumi won the championship, "Lokomotiv" Kutaisi won the cup. In the same year, Kutaisi hockey players won the tournaments in Yerevan and Baku and the qualifying competition for the I League of the USSR Championship. The teams of Batumi and Tbilisi Army Sports Club also played in this league at different times. The first women's groups were opened in 1979 - the women's team of Batumi "Gantiadi" (coach - Zurab Mzhavia) played in the USSR I League for 2 years, and then was replaced by "Feykar" of Kutaisi (coach - Avtandil Tevdoradze). Kutaisi girls won the Union Youth Championship in 1988. Hockey teams were formed in Chokhatauri and Lanchkhuti. In 1985, the first artificial turf field in the Transcaucasia was organized on the territory of Kutaisi Central Stadium. In 1992, the first specialized field hockey school was established in Kutaisi, the training groups of which were opened in Tskaltubo and Samtredia. In different years, Georgian hockey players have played in international tournaments in Poland, Spain, Austria, Iran, qualifying competitions for Central and Eastern European championships. Georgian Field Hockey Federation. Founded on February 12, 1988. Member of the International Field Hockey Federation (FIH) since 1996. Presidents: Revaz Robakidze (1988-96), Teimuraz Archaia (1996-2004), Giorgi Charkviani (since 2004). Konstantine Archaia (2006-2012), Avtandil Tevdoradze (since 2012).

Season 2022
# T G P
1 Tbilisi 4 20
2 Kutaisi 4 15
3 Abasha 4 11
4 Adjara 4 5
5 Abasha team 2 (men) 4 4